Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#19158 11/16/05 10:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
T
UGN Member
UGN Member
T Offline
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
How do I print out a set of variables with a space between them. Sounds as though it should be simple as could be and perhaps it is,, however when you don't know how its maddening!

example:

Code
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ($body1);
echo ($body2);


echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';


?>
This prints out


sallysmithThank you for registering. Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.


Assuming of course that sally is the first name and smith is the last name used when registering on the form.

What I cant figure out how to do is make it space between sally and smith ($body1 and $body2).

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
▼ Sponsored Links ▼ ▲ Sponsored Links ▲
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 247
UGN Member
UGN Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 247
I only have experience in C++, but the concept should be the same.

Try echoing a space between the variables.

Code
<?php
$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;
echo ($body1);
echo ' '
echo ($body2);
echo ' '
echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';
?>


"We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area."

-UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
T
UGN Member
UGN Member
T Offline
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Worked like a charm. Thanks! As I thought, simple as can be. lol

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Community Owner
Community Owner
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
It'd be easier as:

Code
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ("$body1 $body2 ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>
Or even:
Code
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
T
UGN Member
UGN Member
T Offline
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Gizmo you are correct. I tried your first example but was messing up my syntax and I tried several variations of your second one. However when I type it correctly as you have shown it is much easier! Thanks for the help!

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Community Owner
Community Owner
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
You could also do something like:
Code
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>
Or even:
Code
<?php 

echo ("$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
UGN Elite
UGN Elite
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
Nods.

PHP is very nice and forgiving with variables. You will also find numbers can be used as both char and int values. That is you can treat them as a string of text or in a math equation without creating a new variable. THis is not the case in most other languages, one or the other. PHP says, [censored] it, your a number, we can do math, and [censored] it, a number is a charater too.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Community Owner
Community Owner
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
AMEN!

Code
<?php
     $one = "55";
     $two = "97";
     $type = "*";

     $math = $one $type $two;

     echo("$one $type $two equals $math");
?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
UGN Elite
UGN Elite
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
why do you guys use() with echo?

lol

You could just
Code
echo "some text";
or
Code
print "some text";
or
Code
<?="some text";?>

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Community Owner
Community Owner
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
It looks more clean god damnit!


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
UGN Elite
UGN Elite
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
lol no it doesn't. It is two more charaters everytime you echo out something.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Community Owner
Community Owner
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Readability smirk


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner

Link Copied to Clipboard
Member Spotlight
None yet
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics33,840
Posts68,858
Members2,176
Most Online3,253
Jan 13th, 2020
Latest Postings
Top Posters
UGN Security 41,392
Gremelin 7,203
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Likes Received
Ghost 2
unreal 1
Crime 1
Ice 1
Dartur 1
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0